Two speakers from The National Science Learning Centre

Two more speakers have confirmed:

Dr. Carol Davenport, Professional Development Leader, National Science Learning Centre

Dr. Emily Perry, Secondary Professional Development Leader, National Science Learning Centre

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Conference 2013, Speakers
One comment on “Two speakers from The National Science Learning Centre
  1. Mark Healy says:

    Think this conference is very important on so many different levels..well done for the hard work, space for innovation and sheer energy of effort to get there…Ben Goldacre’s assertion of EBE is appealing and perhaps seductive, but why? and to what extent? to what end do we as teachers need to adopt a mindset that embraces EBE? “I am a teacher of children, not a researcher of epistemology” So we “assimilate to a Borg” mindset? NO..rather to embrace “education as a practice of freedom” ..to empower to make space for innovation, creativity and spark within a given context through questions that have a conceptual appeal but can belong to my world, in my class…one lesson in school delivered to my year 12 Psychology class looks very different from the “same” lesson with my other year 12 class..and that’s as it should be..socially and cognitively constructed, dynamics, relationships, needs, personalities, social spontaneity, banter, humour, levels of connection, levels of understanding that are all different..and that is the nexus of EBE for me to what we do in the class…personalise through my questions and always afford me the opportunity to link back and reflect to us in the class as a teacher and as students…lead through my voice, my narratives and my preferred future..that’s the empowering part of EBE for me..

Leave a comment